forward motion

forward motion

Artists: Christina Battle, Steven Beckly, Patrick Cruz, Soheila Esfahani, Melissa General, Julius Poncelet Manapul, Jihee Min, Ed Pien, Veronique Sunatori, Meera Margaret Singh, Tazeen Qayyum.

Curated by Noa Bronstein

Exhibition Dates: September 8 - October 20, 2018
Opening Reception: Saturday September 8 | 1-4pm
Exhibition hours: Wednesday-Saturday | 12-4pm

Join us in celebrating the inaugural exhibition at the newly opened Small Arms Inspection Building (SAIB).

forward motion brings together artworks that converge on concepts of mobility and movement, of transit and the transitory. Exploring ideas ranging from flight, time travel and immigration to displacement and circulation, each of the artists featured within the exhibition navigates the physical and conceptual dimensions of movement across time and space. What emerges through these multiple pathways are deeply felt responses to how the movement of bodies, objects and ideas influences the ways in which the artists featured here conceive of place-making, of awayness and hereness.

Image credit: Meera Margaret Singh, Split. Courtesy of the artist.

We would like to thank Pallet Renew for their in-kind donation.

Saturday, September 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Exhibition
Contact Us
For more information contact:

Here's what's hot

Do you remember the 1979 train derailment? November 10th marks the 40th anniversary of the Mississauga Train Derailment, also known as the Mississauga Miracle. To commemorate the anniversary, please join us for exhibitions and events taking place throughout Mississauga.

We need your help to identify Mississauga places that are unique and valuable to you. Join the conversation and get in involved with Phase 2 of our project in two ways, online or in person at our public workshop.

Partnering with the City of Mississauga Public Art Program, the Winnipeg Film Group will showcase four works. Winnipeg Film Group is an education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of moving image.

The Toronto Biennial of Art is a 72-day, free art exhibition located at 10 sites along the waterfront. The Small Arms Inspection Building will present works by 13 international artists and provide interactive experiences that include workshops, artist talks, community gatherings and explorative walks