forward motion

forward motion

Artists: Christina Battle, Steven Beckly, Patrick Cruz, Soheila Esfahani, Melissa General, Julius Poncelet Manapul, Jihee Min, Ed Pien, Veronique Sunatori, Meera Margaret Singh, Tazeen Qayyum.

Curated by Noa Bronstein

Exhibition Dates: September 8 - October 20, 2018
Opening Reception: Saturday September 8 | 1-4pm
Exhibition hours: Wednesday-Saturday | 12-4pm

Join us in celebrating the inaugural exhibition at the newly opened Small Arms Inspection Building (SAIB).

forward motion brings together artworks that converge on concepts of mobility and movement, of transit and the transitory. Exploring ideas ranging from flight, time travel and immigration to displacement and circulation, each of the artists featured within the exhibition navigates the physical and conceptual dimensions of movement across time and space. What emerges through these multiple pathways are deeply felt responses to how the movement of bodies, objects and ideas influences the ways in which the artists featured here conceive of place-making, of awayness and hereness.

Image credit: Meera Margaret Singh, Split. Courtesy of the artist.

We would like to thank Pallet Renew for their in-kind donation.

Saturday, September 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Exhibition
Contact Us
For more information contact:

Here's what's hot

Join us at Mississauga Celebration Square for a variety of FREE outdoor fitness classes that are suitable for all fitness levels and abilities! New this year, all Fresh Air Fitness classes will incorporate injury and/or accessibility modifications for everyone to join in the fun!

Grab a blanket and join your friends and neighbours under the night sky for Movie Nights! Celebration Square is a fully-accessible outdoor space that is open to all members of the community. Watch classics, blockbuster hits and family feel-good favourites on the big screens.

Come spend an evening at Benares Historic House! Enjoy outdoor concerts every Friday June through August that celebrates local talent. Light refreshments are available for purchase at each concert. Bring your own sing-along voices, insect repellent and blankets or lawn chairs.

The Mississauga Big Band Jazz Ensemble is a community jazz orchestra in Mississauga is many things - a performer of classic big band standards, a collective that celebrates all the great jazz styles from bebop to the blues, an ensemble willing to follow the newest jazz directions, and a group of dedicated musicians who think that playing jazz of any style is just plain fun..