forward motion

forward motion

Artists: Christina Battle, Steven Beckly, Patrick Cruz, Soheila Esfahani, Melissa General, Julius Poncelet Manapul, Jihee Min, Ed Pien, Veronique Sunatori, Meera Margaret Singh, Tazeen Qayyum.

Curated by Noa Bronstein

Exhibition Dates: September 8 - October 20, 2018
Opening Reception: Saturday September 8 | 1-4pm
Exhibition hours: Wednesday-Saturday | 12-4pm

Join us in celebrating the inaugural exhibition at the newly opened Small Arms Inspection Building (SAIB).

forward motion brings together artworks that converge on concepts of mobility and movement, of transit and the transitory. Exploring ideas ranging from flight, time travel and immigration to displacement and circulation, each of the artists featured within the exhibition navigates the physical and conceptual dimensions of movement across time and space. What emerges through these multiple pathways are deeply felt responses to how the movement of bodies, objects and ideas influences the ways in which the artists featured here conceive of place-making, of awayness and hereness.

Image credit: Meera Margaret Singh, Split. Courtesy of the artist.

We would like to thank Pallet Renew for their in-kind donation.

Saturday, September 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Exhibition
Contact Us
For more information contact:

Here's what's hot

The New Youth Council wants to showcase you and your artwork. This is an opportunity to get professional recognition, have your art promoted to a wide audience and make connections to other young creative people in the city.

These snow boots were made for walking! Safely explore outdoor art and self-guided activities this winter as part of Walks of Art, presented by TD Canada. Explore animated sites in Downtown Mississauga and Bradley Museum with self-guided walking tours, a scavenger hunt and fun games.

The City of Mississauga Public Art Program invites professional artists or artist teams to create an original public artwork for the exterior metal structure of two pedestrian overpass bridges: Winston Churchill Bridge and Derry Road Bridge.