forward motion

forward motion

Artists: Christina Battle, Steven Beckly, Patrick Cruz, Soheila Esfahani, Melissa General, Julius Poncelet Manapul, Jihee Min, Ed Pien, Veronique Sunatori, Meera Margaret Singh, Tazeen Qayyum.

Curated by Noa Bronstein

Exhibition Dates: September 8 - October 20, 2018
Opening Reception: Saturday September 8 | 1-4pm
Exhibition hours: Wednesday-Saturday | 12-4pm

Join us in celebrating the inaugural exhibition at the newly opened Small Arms Inspection Building (SAIB).

forward motion brings together artworks that converge on concepts of mobility and movement, of transit and the transitory. Exploring ideas ranging from flight, time travel and immigration to displacement and circulation, each of the artists featured within the exhibition navigates the physical and conceptual dimensions of movement across time and space. What emerges through these multiple pathways are deeply felt responses to how the movement of bodies, objects and ideas influences the ways in which the artists featured here conceive of place-making, of awayness and hereness.

Image credit: Meera Margaret Singh, Split. Courtesy of the artist.

We would like to thank Pallet Renew for their in-kind donation.

Saturday, September 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Exhibition
Contact Us
For more information contact:

Here's what's hot

Amy Malbeuf presents a body of work that considers multiple manifestations of tension - the physical act of stretching or straining; the state of being stretched or strained; and the mental and emotional consequences brought by trauma such as intense stress, anxiety and avoidance.

ImagineNATIVE in partnership with TIFF, Pinnuaq, and the Initiative for Indigenous Futures (IIF), present 2167, an innovative virtual reality and immersive media project at the Small Arms Inspection Building.

Join us for a beading workshop led by Tabitha Shurgold of the Peel Aboriginal Network. This walk-in workshop will be suitable for all ages and skill levels.

The City of Mississauga will recognize its third Poet Laureate in 2019. The role of the Poet Laureate is to elevate the status of poetry, literary arts and writers within their communities and beyond.