A Thread and A Story

A Thread and A Story

Every quilt tells a story. This exhibition shares stories and traditions from the age old practice of quilt making. Quilting exists almost everywhere on the globe, each country, region, culture has its own quilting styles, traditions and techniques that have evolved from varied histories connected with storytelling from generation to generation.

The Museums of Mississauga will be showcasing their Canadian Heritage Quilt Collection alongside quilts shared from residents, private and institutional collections and artists.

Come see quilts at Bradley Museum and Benares Historic House.

Exhibition runs September 9 - February 25, 2018.

Art Bus Tour

On January 28th, 2018 an Art Bus tour will take place from the Gladstone Hotel to the Blackwood Gallery, Museums of Mississauga, and Glenhyrst Art Gallery of Brant.
To RSVP email blackwood.gallery@utoronto.ca or call 905-828-3789 by Friday January 26th, 2018.

Schedule:
12pm-12:10pm Bus departs Gladstone Hotel, 1214 Queen St W, Toronto
12:45pm Arrive at Bradley Museum - exhibition tour of A Thread and a Story at Bradley Museum with Camille Turner and Steven Paquette
1:20pm Depart Bradley Museum
1:40pm Arrive at Blackwood Gallery - exhibition tour of #callresponse with Alison Cooley
2:15pm Depart Blackwood Gallery
3:15pm Arrive at Glenhyrst Art Gallery of Brant - exhibition tour of Kapwani Kiwanga exhibition with Matthew Ryan Smith
3:50pm Depart Glenhyrst
5:00pm Gladstone Hotel

Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 2, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 16, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 23, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 24, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Exhibition
Contact Us
For more Information Contact:

Here's what's hot

This exhibition takes the point of view that the working relationship between a service dog and its handler is built on deep personal connections.

Shellie Zhang's Aesthetic of Surfaces examines the many ways that complex notions of identity and place are translated or mistranslated through mass produced goods.

This is that rare musical by which all others are measured and features one of musical theatre's greatest scores, including: "The Rain in Spain", "I Could Have Danced all Night" and "Get me to the Church on Time".

Take in live performances and entertainment surrounded by thousands of twinkly lights at Light Up the Square. Come early and shop late at the Holiday Street Market.