Shellie Zhang:

Shellie Zhang:

Aesthetic of Surfaces

Shellie Zhang's The Aesthetic of Surfaces examines the many ways that complex notions of identity and place are translated or mistranslated through mass produced goods. Zhang's series of images and vinyl wallpaper installations depict merchandise collected from Chinatowns and ornate Chinese floral motifs that comment on the markers of femininity and exoticism that are perpetuated by mundane objects. This project leads us to questions of intention, cultural exchange and who has the power to culturally borrow from whom.

Exhibition Dates: September 15 - November 25, 2018
Opening Reception: Saturday September 15 | 2-4pm
Exhibition hours: Friday-Sunday | 12-4pm

Image credit: Shellie Zhang, Red Canteen #5, #2, #3 from the Aesthetic of Surfaces series, 2017. Courtesy of the artist.

We would like to acknowledge funding support from the Ontario Arts Council, an agency of the Government of Ontario.


Saturday, September 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, September 16, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, September 23, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 7, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 16, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 23, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 24, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 25, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Exhibition
Contact Us
For more Information Contact:

Here's what's hot

Support local talent every Wednesday in August by visiting Celebration Square's Amphitheatre for free open mic nights.

Spark your imagination! New this year, the Amphitheatre becomes a stage for live children's theatre every Tuesday night in August.

The Art Gallery of Mississauga (AGM) is a public, not-for-profit, art gallery located in the Mississauga Civic Centre. The AGM presents a changing calendar of engaging contemporary art exhibitions, featuring regional, national and international artists.

Come spend an evening at Benares Historic House! Enjoy outdoor concerts every Friday June through August that celebrates local talent.