The Lengths We Go: Reflections on Hair

The Lengths We Go: Reflections on Hair

View the Virtual Tour


Whether we realize it or not, hair affects us all; it is considered one of the most visible communicators of status, privilege, and culture, both today and throughout human history.

The Lengths We Go: Reflections on Hair explores how society, culture, and identity influence hair practices. Experience the evolution of North American hair trends from the 1900s to the present, and reflect on the different ways that hair is used to express oneself. Featuring discussions of iconic hairstyles and personal stories from the Mississauga community, this exhibition asks the question: what does hair mean to you?


A Guide for Families (pdf)

Download this guide for some family friendly activities related to the exhibition.


Hair Me Out! A Zine by Mississauga Youth (pdf)

Explore artworks and writing that tells the hairstories of young creatives from the Museum's of Mississauga's The New Youth Council.


Action Cards (pdf)

Download these action cards from the exhibition for more resources and activities related to hair!


Pre-Booked Tours begin on July 28, 2021

The Museums of Mississauga welcome visitors for pre-booked tours beginning July 28, 2021 until September 3, 2021. Tours will be available Wednesdays to Fridays from 12:00pm to 4:00pm by appointment only. One ticket is valid for up to 5 people. Visitors must wear a mask while inside the Anchorage at Bradley Museum. Tours will include physical distancing measures.

Please book your tour by registering on Eventbrite: https://the-lengths-we-go.eventbrite.ca


We want to hear from you! Use #MiHairstory on social media to share your own hairstory with the museum. Don't forget to follow us on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.


This project is presented in partnership with the Master of Museums Studies (MMSt) program, offered through the Faculty of Information at the University of Toronto. The exhibition was curated by Priscilla Carmini, Denise Tenio, Rebecca Tunney, and Jordan Vetter, graduate students from the Master of Museum Studies program at the University of Toronto.

The MMSt program final exhibition project is presented annually at the Museums of Mississauga. Learn more about the MMSt program at the University of Toronto here: https://ischool.utoronto.ca/current-students/programs-courses/programs-of-study/master-of-museum-studies/ and see previous graduate student exhibition projects here: https://displaycase.ischool.utoronto.ca/year/

Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, June 25, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, June 26, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, June 27, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, June 28, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, June 30, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, July 1, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, July 2, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, July 3, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, July 4, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, July 5, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, July 6, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 7, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, July 8, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, July 9, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, July 10, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, July 11, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, July 12, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, July 13, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, July 15, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, July 16, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, July 17, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, July 18, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, July 19, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, July 23, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, July 24, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, July 26, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, July 29, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, July 30, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, July 31, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, August 1, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, August 2, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, August 5, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, August 6, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, August 7, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, August 8, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, August 9, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, August 10, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, August 12, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, August 13, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, August 14, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, August 15, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, August 16, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, August 17, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, August 19, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, August 20, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, August 21, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, August 22, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, August 23, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, August 26, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, August 27, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, August 28, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, August 29, 2021 - 9:00am
Monday, August 30, 2021 - 9:00am
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 - 9:00am
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 - 9:00am
Thursday, September 2, 2021 - 9:00am
Friday, September 3, 2021 - 9:00am
Saturday, September 4, 2021 - 9:00am
Sunday, September 5, 2021 - 9:00am
Free Event
Contact Us
For more information contact:

Here's what's hot

Local music curators present a series of safe, outdoor, physically distanced concerts in the Amphitheatre. Tickets are required and seating is assigned on a first-come first-served basis. Please note that face coverings are required at all times while in the Amphitheatre.

The Lakeview Farmers' Market runs from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm, and operates Sundays from May 30th to October 10th. The Market features local, sustainable, organic, and artisanal products, which provide an important source of income for local farmers, growers, producers, and artisans.

friend of a friend is an online exhibition created by Visual Arts Mississauga's 2020-21 Creative Residents. The artwork presented is inspired by the social and creative connections that shape our artistic practices, our identities, and our evolving narratives.

Eat fresh and shop local this summer at Celebration Square. This favourite central market offers a broad variety of items including homemade preserves and honey, baked goods, locally produced wine and Ontario-grown fruits and vegetables.