From tree to table:

From tree to table:

The History and Craft of Maple Syrup

First Nations introduced maple sugaring to early settlers and the maple harvest continues to be an important practice for communities across Ontario today. What are your springtime traditions? For many, springtime means tapping trees, collecting sap and drizzling maple syrup on pancakes. This spring, join us at the Bradley Museum as we explore the history of maple sugaring, all the way from tree to table.

This exhibition was developed in consultation with Alexandre Nahdee, who is a Shawnee hereditary Ogima from Walpole Island First Nation, and features a series of community portraits. In these videos, we hear from individuals from First Nations across Ontario whose maple sugaring knowledge is unique to each of them. These narratives locate First Nations in the past, present and future. We are very grateful to the knowledge keepers, elders and teachers who shared their time and experiences with us, and gave us permission to record and present their interviews at the Bradley Museum. Our sincere thanks and gratitude go out to:

  • Andrew Judge, Anishinaabeg Nation
  • Alexandre Nahdee, Walpole Island First Nation
  • Peter Schuler, Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation
  • Don Smoke, Alderville First Nation
  • Lorenzo Whetung, Curve Lake First Nation
  • Murray Whetung, Curve Lake First Nation
  • Peter Wynne, Moose Cree First Nation

The Museums of Mississauga are located on the Treaty Lands and Territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, and the Traditional Territory of the Huron-Wendat, Haudenosaunee, Anishinaabe and Ojibway-Chippewa Sovereign Nations. This Territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties, as well as the Dish with One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant.

Image Title: Maple sugar making
Image Source: Library and Archives Canada/John Boyd fonds/r000054

Thursday, January 30, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, January 31, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 1, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 2, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 6, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 7, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 8, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 9, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 13, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 14, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 16, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 21, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 22, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, February 27, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, February 28, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 1, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, March 5, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, March 6, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, March 7, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, March 12, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, March 13, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 15, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, March 19, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, March 20, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, March 21, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 22, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, March 26, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, March 27, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, March 28, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 29, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, April 2, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, April 3, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, April 4, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 5, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, April 9, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, April 11, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 12, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, April 16, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, April 17, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, April 18, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 19, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, April 23, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, April 24, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, April 25, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 26, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, April 30, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, May 1, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, May 2, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, May 3, 2020 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Event
Contact Us
For more information contact:

Here's what's hot

Learn about Mississauga's first black settlers with photographs and Museum artifacts that you can touch and hold. Create a page detailing your own Mississauga settlement story, which will be collected into a book and made available at the Bradley Museum.

Join Andrew Chung and The Mississauga Pops Concert Band on a journey through time with the best Crooners, Rockers and Pop Stars to ever hit the stage. Enjoy the hits of the past and today all in one fantastic show.

The City of Mississauga will recognize its third Youth Poet Laureate in 2020. The role of the Youth Poet Laureate is to serve as a literary ambassador for youth in the City of Mississauga.

First Nations introduced maple sugaring to early settlers and the maple harvest continues to be an important practice for communities across Ontario today. This spring, join us at the Bradley Museum as we explore the history of maple sugaring, all the way from tree to table.