Mississauga Miracle

Mississauga Miracle

40th Anniversary Exhibitions and Event

Do you remember the 1979 train derailment? November 10th marks the 40th anniversary of the Mississauga Train Derailment, also known as the Mississauga Miracle. This event saw over 240,000 residents evacuated from their homes; the largest peacetime evacuation in North America at that time. Fortunately, there were no deaths in the incident. To commemorate the anniversary, please join us for exhibitions and events taking place throughout Mississauga. Exhibitions, presented in partnership with Heritage Mississauga and the Museums of Mississauga, will be available at the Bradley Museum from September 21 - November 17, and at Heritage Mississauga "The Grange", from October 29 - November 15. An Anniversary Event will take place on November 10 at Heritage Mississauga "The Grange" and complimentary refreshments will be provided; all are welcome to attend.

Mississauga Miracle Exhibition

Exhibitions will run at both Bradley Museum and Heritage Mississauga "The Grange" and will feature local art, as well as archives and artifacts related to the derailment. Artifacts from the Museums' collections include the Pressure Relief Valve from the derailed tanker, the final investigation report, images from a variety of sources including our collection, Mississauga Heritage and Peel Archives, and more commemorative items. A looping video compiled from 50 video oral histories of the experiences of those involved will also be featured; the interviews range from firefighters and politicians to residents that were evacuated from their homes.

Location: Bradley Museum
Date: September 21- November 17
Open: Thursday to Sunday, Noon - 4pm

Location: Heritage Mississauga "The Grange", 1921 Dundas Street West
Date: October 29 - November 15
Open: Tuesday to Friday, 9am - 5pm

Mississauga Miracle: 40th Anniversary Event

Join us for an anniversary open house at Heritage Mississauga "The Grange", 1921 Dundas St. W on November 10th from 2pm - 4pm. Take in the Mississauga Miracle Exhibition as you enjoy complimentary refreshments. Special guest speaker To Be Announced.

Location: Heritage Mississauga "The Grange", 1921 Dundas Street West
Date: November 10, 2 - 4pm

Saturday, September 21, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, September 22, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 27, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 28, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, September 29, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 3, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 4, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 5, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 6, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 11, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 12, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 13, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 17, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 18, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 19, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 20, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 25, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 31, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 1, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 2, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 3, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 8, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 9, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 10, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 14, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 15, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 16, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 17, 2019 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Event
Contact Us
For more information contact:

Here's what's hot

The Toronto Biennial of Art is a 72-day, free art exhibition located at 10 sites along the waterfront. The Small Arms Inspection Building will present works by 13 international artists and provide interactive experiences that include workshops, artist talks, community gatherings and explorative walks

Do you remember the 1979 train derailment? November 10th marks the 40th anniversary of the Mississauga Train Derailment, also known as the Mississauga Miracle. To commemorate the anniversary, please join us for exhibitions and events taking place throughout Mississauga.

Let it Glow at Celebration Square as we kick-off the winter season on November 23. It's time to lace up your skates and hit the ice for the official opening of the rink, and celebrate the wonder of the holiday season as we illuminate the Square with the Christmas Tree Lighting with Members of Mississauga Council.

The New Youth Council welcomes all Mississauga youth between the ages of 15 and 21 to participate in weekly creative workshops at the Small Arms Inspection Building. Held during the Toronto Biennial of Art, youth will have opportunities to work on creative projects, meet artists and curators, and go on off-site trips