Beyond Sit & Stay:

Beyond Sit & Stay:

Dogs in our Service

This exhibition takes the point of view that the working relationship between a service dog and its handler is built on deep personal connections. A partnership that matches the right dog for the job with the right person for the job, and that provides very real and substantial support networks in our community.

A service dog is not a piece of equipment molded once and then passed from person to person to perform a task. Service dogs and their handlers always work as partners. Their personalities, skills and goals must be matched through careful evaluations and training. Their relationship is always a work in progress, so that both their bond of trust and level of skill will be completely reliable when they come under pressure on the job.

This is real work for both members of the team. There are job performance standards that each one must be capable of fulfilling. The more sophisticated the job, such as policing or search and rescue, the more likely there are formal certification tests that have to be passed - as partners.

Exhibition Hours:
Open 7 days a week in the Visitor Centre from noon-4pm

This exhibition is designed, produced and owned by Halton Region, and presented in partnership with Museums of Mississauga

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, September 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, October 1, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 6, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 7, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, October 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, October 9, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, October 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, October 16, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, October 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, October 26, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, October 28, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, October 29, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 2, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 3, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 4, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, November 5, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 10, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, November 12, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Friday, November 16, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, November 17, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, November 19, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Tuesday, November 20, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Free Exhibition
Contact Us
For more Information Contact:

Here's what's hot

Ring in 2020 with 30,000 of your closest friends. New Year's Eve at Celebration Square is the city's biggest New Year's celebration. We're welcoming 2020 in style with an award winning lineup of today's hottest acts.

A sparkling showcase of Indian dances including Bollywood, Kathak, Bharathanatyam, and Bhangra, Rhythm of Roots is an annual Recital of danceShala, a school for providing classes for various Indian dance styles.

Chicago-based rockers The Lovettes celebrate the great girl groups from the golden era of pop in their own show "Leaders Of The Pack" as seen on PBS' Doo-Wop Generations.

Bring your family and friends to this fun filled evening featuring Tribute Artists Tom Jones, Terri Clark, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, and Patsy Cline. It's a great Holiday Gift to enjoy during the Holiday Season!